Relive your service through photos

Upload photographs and videos to share your military memories with friends and family, using Google Picasa. Or ask your loved ones to upload memories that were created while you were away.

Go to Picasa

  1. Upload your photos and videos
  2. Share them with family and friends
  3. Picasa and Google+
  4. Additional resources
  1. Upload your photos and videos

    1. Visit picasaweb.google.com and sign in to your Google Account.
    2. Click the Upload button.

    3. Choose a title
    4. Click Choose photos to upload. Select the photos and videos on your computer.
    5. After the upload is complete, hover over any image to add a caption, zoom, rotate or delete within the upload screen.
    6. Click the "Edit visibility link in the top left hand corner of the screen".

      Your album visibility will automatically be set for only you to be able to view. Your album can be as public or as private as you want.

      This will enable you to change the visibility for each of your albums.

    7. Click Done.

    Once your photos and videos are online, tell your story by adding captions or plotting photo locations on the map.

  2. Share them with family and friends

    1. Visit picasaweb.google.com and sign in to your Google Account.
    2. Click on the album you'd like to share.
    3. Click the Google+ Share button.
    4. Add a comment and enter the names, circles or email addresses of those who you'd like to share.
    5. Click the Share button.

    This album will be shared on Google+. Anyone the album is shared with can see who else it is shared with.

    Alternatively you can click the "Share via email only" button fill in the email addresses you wish to share with and your message and click "Share via email"

  1. Picasa and Google+

    When you sign up for Google+, you can see and share all of your Picasa Web albums in Google+. Here’s how it works:

    • Google+ is the new home for your photos: Albums will be visible on your Google+ photos homepage and the new Photos and Videos tabs on your Google+ profile. Who can see your albums stays the same - visitors can see your public albums and the albums you've shared with them.
    • Your friends can loop in their friends: People that you've shared your photos and videos with can reshare them on Google+. You can prevent resharing on Google+ by locking an album or post, or by setting an album to be visible to Only You
    • Check out who an album is shared with: People who can see a post or an album can also see who else it's been shared with in Google+. You can also see and change the sharing settings for all of your albums in one place.
    • Share photos with the people who care about them: Post to Google+ circles - like 'Family,' or 'Military friends' - directly from Picasa Web Albums.
    • Name tags are better with friends: The people you've added to your Google+ circles can add name tags to your photos. The person tagged will receive an email to approve the tag and see the album they were tagged in. Learn more about the changes to name tags.
    • Photos make great conversation: Comments on photos are shared across Picasa Web Albums and Google+. Your photos and comments, even those you've already made, in Picasa Web Albums and Google+ are attributed to the name and profile photo you use in Google+.
    • Make your profile your own: Picasa Web Albums and Google+ link to your Google profile, which offers visitors a custom view of what you've decided to share with them. You can even preview what your profile looks like from someone else's perspective.
    • You get more free storage: Photos you upload to Google+ will be automatically resized to 2048 pixels and stored for free. Like Picasa Web, video uploads 15 minutes or shorter are free.
  1. Additional resources

    Picasa Web Albums for Mobile
    Learn how to get your photos on the go!

    Picasa Help Center